Zermatt Region

At the foot of the mystic Matterhorn.

In the Nikolai valley, on the Italian border of the canton of Valais in western Switzerland, lies Zermatt, the car-free village at the foot of the Matterhorn.

For our visitors from abroad, Zermatt is typically Swiss: high up in the Alps, stylish and traditional. Almost a third of all the 4000 m peaks in the Alps are ranged around the village, which has been sought out by climbers from all over the world ever since the first ascent of the Matterhorn in 1865. The village's hotels and restaurants are world-famous.

The skiing area is not only the highest in the Alps, it is regarded as one of the best equipped in the world, allowing visitors to enjoy thrilling sporting adventures in the steepest holiday resort in the world – 365 days a year. The many mountain railways take you to the starting points for countless activities – hiking, year-round skiing and much, much more.

The climate here is remarkably good: with 300 days of sunshine a year, there is less precipitation here than anywhere else in Switzerland. The air in Zermatt is clear, dry and clean, because there are no vehicles with combustion engines in the village, only electric-powered ones – and that has been the case since 1947. Everything is different in Zermatt.

Summer

Zermatt offers countless options in summer, too.

More info

Winter

In Zermatt, there's something for everyone who loves winter!

More info

La région de Zermatt

Sous le charme du Cervin.

Dans la vallée de Zermatt (Nikolaital) à la frontière italienne du canton romand du Valais se trouve le village piéton de Zermatt, au pied du Cervin.

Pour nos clients étrangers, Zermatt est l’image de la Suisse : hauts sommets alpins, majesté et authenticité. Près d'un tiers de tous les 4000er des Alpes sont regroupés autour de ce village, fréquenté par des alpinistes venus du monde entier depuis la première ascension du Cervin en 1865. Il possède une tradition hôtelière et gastronomique de renommée mondiale.

Le domaine skiable n’est pas seulement le plus élevé des Alpes. Il est réputé être l’un des mieux aménagés au monde et permet d’audacieuses aventures sportives dans la destination la plus abrupte au monde – 365 jours par an. Les nombreux téléphériques vous conduisent aux points de départ d’une multitude d'activités qui vont bien au-delà de la randonnée ou de la pratique du ski tout au long de l’année.

Le climat est d'excellente qualité : Avec 300 jours d’ensoleillement par an, le niveau de précipitations est le plus faible de Suisse. L‘air de Zermatt est limpide, sec et propre car, dans le village, ne circulent que des véhicules électriques sans moteur à combustion – et ce depuis 1947. A Zermatt, bien des choses sont différentes.

Été

Zermatt offre également en été d'innombrables possibilités d'activités.

Plus d'infos

Hiver

Tous les amoureux de l’hiver en ont pour leur argent à Zermatt !

Plus d'infos