Zermatt Region

At the foot of the mystic Matterhorn.

In the Nikolai valley, on the Italian border of the canton of Valais in western Switzerland, lies Zermatt, the car-free village at the foot of the Matterhorn.

For our visitors from abroad, Zermatt is typically Swiss: high up in the Alps, stylish and traditional. Almost a third of all the 4000 m peaks in the Alps are ranged around the village, which has been sought out by climbers from all over the world ever since the first ascent of the Matterhorn in 1865. The village's hotels and restaurants are world-famous.

The skiing area is not only the highest in the Alps, it is regarded as one of the best equipped in the world, allowing visitors to enjoy thrilling sporting adventures in the steepest holiday resort in the world – 365 days a year. The many mountain railways take you to the starting points for countless activities – hiking, year-round skiing and much, much more.

The climate here is remarkably good: with 300 days of sunshine a year, there is less precipitation here than anywhere else in Switzerland. The air in Zermatt is clear, dry and clean, because there are no vehicles with combustion engines in the village, only electric-powered ones – and that has been the case since 1947. Everything is different in Zermatt.

Summer

Zermatt offers countless options in summer, too.

More info

Winter

In Zermatt, there's something for everyone who loves winter!

More info

Region Zermatt

Im Bann des Matterhorns.

Im Nikolaital, an der italienischen Grenze des Westschweizer Kantons Wallis, liegt Zermatt, das autofreie Dorf am Fusse des Matterhorns.

Für unsere Gäste aus dem Ausland repräsentiert Zermatt die Schweiz: hochalpin, erhaben und ursprünglich. Fast ein Drittel aller 4000er der Alpen gruppieren sich um das Dorf, das seit der Erstbesteigung des Matterhorns im Jahre 1865 von Bergsteigern aus aller Welt besucht wird. Hotellerie und Gastronomie geniessen Weltruf.

Das Skigebiet ist nicht nur das höchstgelegene der Alpen. Es gilt als eines der best ausgebauten weltweit und ermöglicht kühne sportive Erlebnisse in der steilsten Destination der Welt – an 365 Tagen im Jahr. Die vielen Bergbahnen bringen Sie an die Ausgangspunkte einer Vielzahl von Aktivitäten – weit mehr als Wandern oder ganzjähriges Skifahren.

Das Klima ist von einer ausgesprochenen Güte: Bei 300 Sonnentagen im Jahr fällt so wenig Niederschlag wie sonst nirgends in der Schweiz. Zermatter Luft ist klar, trocken und sauber, denn im Dorf verkehren ausschliesslich Elektromobile ohne Verbrennungsmotor – und das seit 1947. In Zermatt ist manches anders.

Sommer

Zermatt bietet auch in den Sommermonaten unzählige Aktivitätsmöglichkeiten.

Mehr Infos

Winter

In Zermatt kommt jeder Winterfan auf seine Kosten!

Mehr Infos